

Eastern Deanery Report to 2013 Diocesan Convention

Spencer Mabry, Dean

Revision Date: October 16, 2013

In 2013, the East Deanery met 5 times (Feb. 18, April 22, August 12, October 14, and Dec. 16). Members of the deanery are Spencer Mabry (Dean); Phyllis Bess; Rev. Amy Haynie; Becky Snell (Sub-Dean); Don Parks; Richard Cabes; Marty Hitchcock; Susan Kleinwechter; Diane Snow; Joel Walker; Lisa Neilson; Rev. Judy Upham; Deacon Tracie Middleton; Reuel Jentgen; Rev. Frank Reeves; Rev. Jesse Smith; Rev. Doyle Dietz-Allen; Floyd McKneely; Elizabeth McPherson-Darrow; Susan Mitchell; Patricia Newlin; Rev. Melanie Wright; Rev. Lauren Gough; Connie Marks; Deacon Sharla Marks; Peggy Pate; Deacon Henry Penner; and Rev. Michael Wallens.

During the course of each meeting, we:

- Had a summary of the previous Executive Council meeting
- Discussed the 2014 Diocesan Convention that we were hosting
 - o A vote in April led us to go with the Diamond Club at the Ranger's Ballpark.
 - O After a successful presentation by Don Parks at the May Executive council meeting, the go-ahead was given to hold the convention there.
 - o There will be a presentation at the end of the 2013 Convention
- Elected Joel Walker to the Nominations
- Discussed the possible "realignment of the deanery structure". This has been a discussion that we have engaged in all year.
- Heard presentations leading up to convention regarding
 - Nominations for office
 - o The Triennial Budget
- Elected our officers for 2014
 - o Dean -- Spencer Mabry
 - o Sub-Dean -- Susan Kleinwechter
 - o Lay Representative -- Susan Kleinwechter
- We also adopted two "mind of the deanery" resolutions:
 - We appreciate all that the Communications Committee has done to keep the diocese informed about event in the diocese.
 - We would appreciate that the reports by the various workgroups made to the Executive council be publically available somewhere on the diocesan website.

Respectively submitted by Spencer Mabry, Dean